The Sports Group The Sports Group

George Smith AM


111 test caps for the Wallabies and two-time John Eales Medallist. Recipient of the Medal of the Order of Australia for services to sport. Super coach Eddie Jones believes George Smith is the 'greatest rugby player he has ever seen'.


George Smith AM has a longstanding exclusive global management agreement with The Sports Group.

George Smith is without question one of the greatest players in the history of world rugby. Smith played 111 test matches for the Wallabies, making him the most capped Australian forward, and the second most capped Wallaby of all time.

Smith played 12 seasons with the ACT Brumbies between 2000 and 2011 before shifting to French Rugby Club, Toulon for two seasons. Smith stayed with the Top 14 in France, turning out for Stade Francais before Eddie Jones lured the talented flanker to the Top League in Japan. Smith signed with Suntory Sungoliath in 2011, delivering the franchise two premierships in his first two seasons.

George Smith was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in 2012. He is a two-time recipient of the John Eales Medal. Between 2006 and 2009 he was the Australian Super 14 Player of the Year over four consecutive seasons. In 2007, he became the Wallabies 75th Captain.

George Smith is contracted to the Queensland Reds for the 2018 season and even at 37 years of age, is still considered one of the most prolific players in the modern game.


Recipient of the Order of Australia Medal (2012)
The youngest player to reach 100 tests for the Wallabies (29yo)
International Rugby stalwart Eddie Jones said of George: “George Smith is the greatest player I have ever seen.”
Has held playing contracts with the biggest Clubs in world Rugby
Australian Wallabies Team of the Decade (2005)


Nationality: Australian
DOB: 14 July 1980
Age: 37
Height: 183cm
Sport: Rugby
Resides: Brisbane, QLD


Winner – 2017 QLD Reds Pilecki Medal for Players’ Player
Winner – Premiership Rugby UK, 2015-2016 Players’ Player
Winner – 2015 Wasps’ Player of the Year
Winner – two-time John Eales Medallist (2002, 2008)
Winner – Super 14 Player of the Year over four consecutive seasons (2006-2009)
Winner – voted ACT Brumbies Players’ Player in eight seasons, seven of those in successive seasons (2002-2008, 2010)